To the eye and to the nose, the Chalet de Gruyères offers the typical décor of an Alpine chalet – wood, and its unmistakable fragrance.
The authentic tools and other objects that once seconded the armailli in his daily work now decorate and enliven the walls of this unique establishment
To the palate, the Chalet offers a wealth of delicacies prepared according to the traditions of the Gruyère region.
They always delight our guests, some of whom come from very far in search of unadulterated flavours.
The Moléson (2,002 metres) is a mountain of the Swiss Prealps, overlooking the region of Gruyères in the canton of Fribourg. It lies at the northern end of the chain between Lake Geneva and the valley of the Sarine.
The summit of the mountain can be easily reached, a cable car station being located near the summit at 1,982 metres as well as a meteorological station. From the village of Moléson-sur-Gruyères a funicular leads to Plan Francey (1,517 m), from where the cable car starts.
Gruyere Castle is the emblem of the historic town of Gruyere, Switzerland, which until now has managed to preserve the medieval town atmosphere. Extremely beautiful and impressive the castle dominates the surrounding area and the Saanen Valley from its highest peak.
The town of Gruyere is in the Swiss canton of Fribourg and is also known by the German name Greyerz. The castle can be reached on the A12 motorway exit at Bulle. The town and fortress is located about 35 kilometers from the district town of Fribourg and 40 kilometers from Vevey. In the town and the castle you cannot use a car , instead you should leave your car in the parking lot at the entrance, which is located approximately 500 meters from Gruyere Castle.
The town and its attractive medieval fortress lir in the middle of the Fribourg Alps green foothills. Gruyere Castle is considered one of the best preserved, beautiful and authentic in Switzerland. The sight of towering castle towers over the old town is a view that is difficult to describe.
Tour of the castle itself today is a kind of lecture on architecture, history and culture for the past 800 years. The castle dates from the 13th century, and currently is an interesting regional museum, which tells the history, traditions and manners in the construction of this Swiss region. Also various temporary exhibitions are held, which tells in pictures the past history of the castle.
In 13th century the castle was home to many of the Counts of Gruyere. Michel, which was the last family, was facing financial difficulties and in 1554 declared bankruptcy. Creditors of the town of Fribourg and Bern shared the land and property among themselves, and in 1555-1798 the castle was used as headquarters of the Fribourg bailiff.
By 1848 Gruyere Castle served as a residence of local prefects. One year later the palace was released and became the property of the families Bovy and Balland. These two families ever spent summers at the castle and dealt intensively with its restoration, with help of their fellow artists and painters. In 1938 the State Board of Fribourg bought the castle and operated it as a museum.
The town of Gruyères itself is unique: a medieval village consisting of a cobble-stoned main street flanked by ancient but beautifully preserved buildings – a tribute both to the local statesmen’s commitment to the rich history of their canton, and to the craftsmen restorers who have kept the village in its pristine condition. The famous 13th century castle, the Château de Gruyères, towers over the town and the valley below. The entire town is car-free, and the cobbled main street is an uphill slope to the château, so remember to wear comfortable walking shoes. Not only is the architecture of the medieval buildings themselves worth seeing, but some exceptional art and cultural exhibitions are housed here. And to top it off, you are surrounded by some of the most breathtaking views in Switzerland.
A visit to the castle is a journey across eight centuries of architecture, history and culture. The castle was the residence of the counts of Gruyères.
The castle, constructed in the 13th century, was home to a long succession of Gruyères counts. Michel, the last of them, faced financial difficulties and declared bankruptcy in 1554. The creditors – the towns of Fribourg and Berne – shared his land between them. The Castle became the headquarters of the Fribourg bailiffs (1555-1798), then the prefects’ residence until 1848. It was put up for sale in 1849 and became the property of the Bovy and Balland families, who stayed there in summer and took care of restoration of the site with their artist friends. In 1938, the State of Fribourg bought the Castle and opened a museum.