The territory of Nunavut comprises a major portion of Northern Canada and most of the Canadian Arctic Archipelago. The name “Nunavut” means “our land” in Inuktitut, the regional Inuit language. The capital of the Nunavut is Iqaluit on Baffin Island, the largest island in Canada and fifth largest island in the world. Baffin Island is extremely remote, located in the Arctic Ocean with a population of approximately 11,000; most of the island’s population resides in Iqaluit.